In Pennsylvania, licensed real estate salespeople and brokers must take 14 hours of continuing education every two years. This year the Real Estate Commission mandated that for the next cycle, all agents must take 3 hours of education in the state’s rules and regulations. Obviously the REC sees a problem in licensees not knowing or understanding the law.
I’m in the middle of writing a course for one of the state’s licensed education providers and spent most of Saturday with my head buried in the state’s rules. This is a good refresher for anyone who practices real estate to go through, and I firmly believe the Real Estate Commission’s mandate is both necessary and crucial to increasing professionalism in our industry.
Too many agents simply don’t know the rules, despite having passed their initial licensing courses and the state exam. For example, I clicked through a Facebook ad today that advertised searching for houses in our area. When I landed on the agent’s page there is no disclosure of who he is or what brokerage he works for in a prominent manner. You can scroll to the bottom to get a first name and a company but that’s not what the state of Pennsylvania requires as far as advertising rules. I’ll bet this agent made a simple mistake and doesn’t know he’s violating REC rules. But this is an excellent example why this course is necessary for all agents to take in this CE cycle.
So, now I have 45,000 words to finish writing by the end of this month. Gotta run!